Book Boxes And New Books

24 Sep

I don’t feel all that good today. Yesterday, I had to pick The Boyfriend up again at his work place late at night. We got home shortly after 3 a.m. and when I got up this morning, I had a headache (not enough sleep), a lot to do, and right now, my head is still fuzzy. But I wanted to post pictures of my new book boxes because I couldn’t believe how right they are for paperback books.

Last weekend, we went to buy cardboard boxes for my romance novels. They were still in some of the packing cases we had from our move last year and umh, ugly. So on Saturday, we – well mostly I – stood in front of boxes in different sizes and colors in a shop. There wasn’t one I just had to have, so I couldn’t decide but needless to say, the one I liked best then was also the most expensive one. I wanted four boxes and we would get a good shelf for the price of four boxes, so no. I then settled for the cheapest, figuring I could buy paper to make them look more like what I had in mind when I wanted that later. Right now, they’re the way I bought them.

Now, the reason for this post:

(click to enlarge)

The boxes are perfect! The books fit seamlessly in the boxes and when I realized that I couldn’t believe it. I’m glad I went with the cheap ones! The last picture shows them stacked under the stairs in the living room. As you probably could see, three of them are full with romance novels, whereas the forth one also has books from other genres and my TBR pile (40 books). It’s also nearly full with books already.

But that doesn’t keep me from thinking about buying new books. I hope I’ll hold out until my birthday (and a gift certificate) comes around next month, but I’m not sure I’ll make it. Maybe I should take a closer look at my TBR pile. Here’s a list of some of the books I think about buying:

  • Jo Goodman – The Price of Desire *
  • Kristan Higgins – Catch of the Day
  • Kristin Hardy – Under His Spell *
  • Liz Maverick – Irreversible *
  • Brandon Sanderson – Mistborn: The Final Empire (pretty sure)
  • Nalini Singh – Caressed by Ice
  • J. R. Ward – Lover Enshrined (I think I’m finally ready for it)
  • C. L. Wilson – Lady of Light and Shadow (maybe)

* sure thing

I’ll have to re-order Kristin Hardy’s Bad Influence. I had it on pre-order, and for some unfathomable reason, this often screws up the order completely. Also, they told me they can’t get Marianne Mancusi’s Moongazer anymore which is a shame because I thought is sounded interesting and I really liked the cover.

7 Responses to “Book Boxes And New Books”

  1. Christine Thursday, September 25, 2008 at 6:42 am #

    First of all, your hardwood floors look great! Mine are in desperate need of refinishing… which will happen maybe in March 2009. LOL

    Next, the boxes look fantastic! So awesome that they hold the paperbacks so orderly! I think the boxes look really good in that spot. Do you have the books in any particular order? How do you keep track of what book is where?

    Also, that’ such a bummer about Moongazer. I actually have a signed copy of it, but still haven’t read it. I’d send you a copy, but is it expensive to ship to Europe from the US?

  2. Taja Thursday, September 25, 2008 at 6:16 pm #

    Thanks for the compliments, Christine! There are scratches on the floor, actually. The biggest one right where I put the open boxes to take the pictures. It’s so big, it’s clearly visible from the top of the stairs! And refinishing sounds like a lot of work. All the furniture to move and then the floors…it would be a very big maybe for us. πŸ™‚

    I tried to sort the books for sub-genre – historicals, contemporaries, paranormals (when I uploaded the pictures I saw that a fantasy novel is with all the romance novels – oops) – but I know myself – I already feel the lists coming. πŸ™‚ We also plan to get more shelves and then some of my romance novels will probably go there (those with the least offensive covers πŸ˜‰ ), but right now I’m happy with the way it is.

    Thank you for your kind and generous offer, Christine, but I guess shipping will surely cost more than the book itself, so no, thank you. But let me just say: a signed copy – woot! Also, get this: I just checked, they still list it as available (as does amazon). Huh? Maybe I try again. Or: How about you read it and write one of your fabulous reviews I always love to read? πŸ˜‰

    Thanks again! πŸ™‚

  3. Kristie(J) Saturday, September 27, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    Hmmm – I thought I’d left a comment on your boxes of books. Anyway – I loved looking at the pics and I see you have some of my all time favourites in there. A couple that really caught my eye were One Summer and Hope’s Captive. Both great books! As well as quite a few other ones you have there. And what a great way to keep them all organized nice and neat!

  4. Christine Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 3:30 am #

    Oh well, even with the big scratch, your floors are in better shape than mine. And there’s no way I’m refinishing the floors myself, if that’s what you thought. I will hire someone to do it for sure! But still… we’ll have to move all our furniture out, then back in. Bleh.

    I’d probably order mine by genre, too. Then alphabetical by author in the genre. Unless I had a lot of cross over books… then I’d probably just sort them all alphabetical by author.

    It looks like it would cost about $12 or 8.22 Euros to mail a book from the US to Germany. That’s where you are, right? I’m not sure how I know that … or why I think that’s where you are. LOL

  5. Christine Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 3:32 am #

    Oh yeah… and nice little poke to read and post a review of Moongazer. You’re so sneaky! LOL

  6. Taja Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    Kristie, I don’t know what happened with the comment. I looked but couldn’t find it. πŸ™‚

    One Summer is great! Rachel and Johnny–*sigh.* Of course, I always read it without the “creepy” parts. LOL. I think my love for older woman-younger man plots partly derives from that novel.

    I bought Hope’s Captive after reading positive comments. I don’t remember, but it could have been you. πŸ™‚ And yes, it was really good and not at all what you would expect looking at the cover!

    Christine, I wasn’t completely sure who would do the refinishing. Some people are that brave/handy. πŸ™‚ But just the part about moving the furniture is enough for me. Bleh indeed. I was so happy that the new company paid for our move last year and we “just” packed the packing cases.

    What do you mean “you would?” Are your books just lying around? πŸ˜‰ (Just kidding.) If I could put all my books on shelves, I would do it like you said.

    You’re right with Germany. I mentioned it on the “About” page, I think, and then there’s the grammar and the mistakes… LOL.

    8.22Euro – more than I thought but still cheaper than Germany-US (I checked too): 9 Euro by ship/19Euro by air, and that depends on me estimating the weight of the parcel right! As I said, they still list it (for 4.14Euro or 4.99Euro (amazon) ), so I’ll try again. Maybe it was just a screw-up. It happens. πŸ™‚ Thanks again.

    “nice little poke” – yes, well, I couldn’t resist. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New Things: Bag Charm + Shelves « Books and Games - Sunday, May 24, 2009

    […] The book was fairly easy to get out of storage. There are a few books there I want to replace with “more favorite” books when I have more time to look through my boxes of books. […]

Leave a Reply

