This Week’s Books

10 Aug

This is my recent book haul. Last month, I tried to be good and, except for one slip, I succeeded in not buying books. I guess I (over-)compensated for that this month.

I started to read category novels looking for straight contemporary romances some time ago. So earlier this week, I ordered the ones that were on my list:


Jessica Bird – From the First Kiss

I liked the two other novels I read by Bird and this one sounded interesting. The only question is: when is this book scheduled to be published (Mills & Boon)? I read conflicting dates (August/September). I just hope that this won’t screw again with my order.


Justine Davis – Her Friend’s Husband

I always wanted to read another one by Davis because I liked The Return of Luke McGuirre. This month, I remembered her, and although this is a romantic suspense, I liked the excerpt I read and so I went along with it.


Kristin Hardy – Bad Influence

This, together with Vermont Valentine, is the book that made me order Kristin Hardy without checking for info or story lines. I read Always a Bridesmaid and liked it; then I read Her Christmas Surprise and liked it; then I saw that this one would be published by Mills & Boon in June and I checked Kristin Hardy’s website for more information. It sounded interesting so I put it on my list of books to buy. On Hardy’s website, I also read about Under the Mistletoe, and that one sounded interesting, too, and look, it was still available so I ordered it. And then I saw that Vermont Valentine was also still available, and that one was the first I got without actually really wanting to read it. So of course, there was no question that I would order Bad Behaviour and The Chef’s Choice this month.

I got screwed when I ordered Bad Influence in June so I had to order it again this month (they finally got around to send me an email saying they couldn’t get it) from another shop, hoping for the best.

It was shipped yesterday.


Debra Salonen – Baby by Contract

Normally, I don’t buy books with babies on the cover or mentioned in the title. Karen Templeton is an exception in that. And I’m really not sure about this one (never read Salonen before) but here’s the deal: this is the first in a series and I’m interested in the second one (His Brother’s Secret), but I really don’t like to not at least read the first one in a series, so I ordered it. Also, this was listed as still available on Monday but now it’s not. Huh? I’ll have to wait and see how this goes.


Eloisa James – Duchess By Night

This is the only one that is not a category romance. I liked the first two in this series so I ordered this one. I’m not fond of the woman-dress-as-man element but I heard that is works and (goody) there’s a strong focus on the romance here (also I didn’t mind the more broader approach in the other two novels).

This one is already here.

On Friday, I was in a bit of a funk or mood or call it whatever you want, so I went and ordered some more books. This time I got:


Kristan Higgins – Just One of the Guys

This one seems to be a straight contemporary romance (see above). I got it because of good reviews and because I liked the excerpt I read. And: it won the RITA for Best Contemporary Single Title Romance this year and since I read only two of the winners (Ward, Quinn), it doesn’t hurt to read a third one.


Susan Mallery – Sweet Talk

I actually didn’t read much about this one. Again, I seems to be a straight contemporary and, more again, this is the first in a series (see above for that) and I want to read the second one.

When will I ever get over this?


Susan Mallery – Sweet Spot

This is the one that I actually want to read. Straight contemporary romance, I saw good reviews and I liked the excerpt I read. Deal.


Caroline Linden – What a Gentleman Wants

I liked A Rake’s Guide to Seduction and wanted to read another novel by Linden. This again is a book I will just have to wait and see if I still can get it. One shop lists it as available and another as not available. Oh joy.

Looking at this list, I feel a bit ill. It seems that it’s not a good idea for me to try for book-buying-free months. I more than made up for my restraint last month, I think. Next month I will have to be and do better and especially ignore that there are still a couple of books I’m interested in that are already published …

But looking at this post at Christine’s blog made me feel better. It seems like I’m not the only one and that’s good to know. šŸ™‚

6 Responses to “This Week’s Books”

  1. Christine Saturday, August 16, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    Nice haul! I just won two previous releases of Kristan Higgins at the Writeminded Author blog. My interest was piqued when I heard Just One of the Guys won the RITA and it got a great review on the Dear Author blog. We’ll have to compare notes when we’ve both read our Higgins’ books. šŸ˜‰

  2. Taja Sunday, August 17, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    I was definitely on a contemporaries high here … šŸ™‚

    I look forward to reading what you thought about the Higgins’ books, especially about the books I don’t have. If not for the review on Dear Author I wouldn’t have noticed Just One of the Guys. And then it was the excerpt that decided it.

  3. Christine Sunday, August 17, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    I wouldn’t have noticed any of Higgins’ books either if I hadn’t paid attention to the RITAs or the Dear Author review. I just don’t gravitate to contemporary romances. I like the extreme escapism in paranormal and historical romance and urban fantasy or fantasy novels. Then when I saw the contest for the other Higgins’ books, I thought I may as well enter and get a chance to check out her work for free. I got lucky and won! šŸ˜‰

    I think its probably a good practice for me to mix up genres every now and then, anyway. It helps me keep a better perspective of what I like and what constitutes really good writing quality.

  4. Taja Sunday, August 17, 2008 at 9:00 pm #

    You won!? Congrats! Sometimes I just can’t read, it seems. šŸ™‚

    I like to read straight contemporaries to remind me that even “ordinary people can have a great love story.” But I think that because of this ordinariness and the knowledge about this kind of life, the (love) story is actually harder to pull off convincingly. But when done right, I find it a nice change of pace from the more escapist stories. šŸ™‚

  5. Christine Monday, August 18, 2008 at 2:49 am #

    You’re absolutely right. It is nice to be reminded that even ordinary people can have a great love story. And it can be a wonderfully refreshing change of pace from the extreme escapist stories. I’m making an effort to mix up the genres I read, but admit that it takes more effort to get myself to pick up contemporaries or historicals. I’m usually happy when I do, though.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Downside Of Ordering Books Online « Books and Games - Saturday, August 16, 2008

    […] look at the list of books I ordered last week, and I think “Give me something else to read.” Four of them are already here, I even […]

Leave a Reply

