The List or: LibraryThing’s Top 100 books

5 Jul

My friend left yesterday afternoon and slowly, I’m “back” again although I didn’t go “away.” It’s just – I don’t know – there was just a different pattern to the day and I focused on different things while my friend was here.

I have a lot to catch up with (at least Google Reader says so). I saw “The List” – a look at LibraryThing’s Top 100 books – on a lot of blogs and since right now I’m still a bit tired, I’ll do the list, too.

Here goes:

Books I read:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Book 5) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Book 3) by J.K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Book 4) by J.K. Rowling
1984 by George Orwell
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Animal Farm by George Orwell
Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Emma by Jane Austen
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
Middlesex: A Novel by Jeffrey Eugenides
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien
The Stranger by Albert Camus
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
The Name of the Rose: including Postscript to the Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
Moby Dick by Herman Melville
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
The Elements of Style, Fourth Edition by William Strunk
The Unbearable Lightness of Being: A Novel by Milan Kundera
Angela’s Ashes: A Memoir by Frank McCourt
some Shakespeare

Books I own and want to read*:

* some because I really want to read them, some because I think I “should” read them

American Gods: A Novel by Neil Gaiman
Frankenstein by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
On the Road by Jack Kerouac
Atonement: A Novel by Ian McEwan
The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Heart of Darkness (Dover Thrift Editions) by Joseph Conrad
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce
Persuasion by Jane Austen

2 Responses to “The List or: LibraryThing’s Top 100 books”

  1. Christine Monday, July 7, 2008 at 4:08 am #

    You’ve read a lot from that list! I see you have American Gods by Neil Gaiman on your wish list to read. I’ve only read some of Gaiman’s books for children and young adults. I have Stardust on my shelf, but I’m also interested in American Gods. And Neverwhere, too. So many books … so little time.

  2. Taja Monday, July 7, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    It looks good, doesn’t it? 😉 Some of them are school reading, some of them are from the time I wouldn’t have put “should” in “should read” in inverted commas (which isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy reading them, but thankfully I no longer view “should” the way I did then).

    Anyway, American Gods – I can’t understand why I don’t get on with it. “The Book Smugglers” did wonderful posts about Gaiman’s books last week. Maybe that does it. And Stardust is on my list of books-to-buy since forever. 😉

    Christine said:

    “So many books … so little time.”

    Isn’t that true!?

Leave a Reply

