About Linnea Sinclair

19 Jan

I’m really happy that I discovered Linnea Sinclair’s novels. I liked Gabriel’s Ghostvery much, especially the setting and the voice. On the strengths of that novel, I ordered the other two which are available right now: Finder’s Keepers and The Accidental Goddess.

I can’t say if Sinclair’s stories are “the same old” in science fiction because science fiction is a new reading territory for me. I read Susan Grant’s Contact and The Star King (and I’m sure a lot of people would say these novels don’t count, the last even more than the first), Iain M. Banks’ The Algebraist, and (not sure if I should count this) Susan Kearney’s The Challenge, and that’s all. But I can say that I enjoyed reading Sinclair’s mix of science fiction and romance.

So I have not much to say about the science fiction part. It surely is not “hard” science fiction with explanations of how and why everything works the way it does. Spaceships and other things are just there and that’s fine with me. What I like is Sinclair’s description of different societies and cultures and the way they interact with each other.

For the romance part, there seems to be a slight pattern to Sinclair’s stories. 1) In each novel I read so far (3) one of the main characters has a secret which fuels part of the story or even the whole of it. But the characters’ reasons to keep the secret are valid and understandable (well, apart from my small problem with Finders Keepers) and there’s not really the Big-Misunderstanding silliness going on. 2) One of the main characters has some abilities “normal” humans don’t have. 3) The heroes fall hard and fast for the heroine. But this “pattern” doesn’t bother me because 1) the plotting is good; 2) the characterisation is good; 3) the heroines are good. They are capable and intelligent and know what they can do – and what they can’t do. It’s just nice to read about mature and intelligent heroines without being beaten constantly over the head wit that fact and then never shown that they are. Sinclair goes the other way and Yeah! for that. Even better is, that goes for the heroes too. 4) There’s not a tidy ending. Meaning, the external problems and threats that played a part in the story don’t solve themselves just because the novel ends. I liked this open ended-ness very much.

I can’t remember where I read the post that made me order Gabriel’s Ghost, but I’m really glad I did. I discovered a wonderful new-to-me author. So “thank you” and I believe I’m near to gushing for the first time here.

Linnea Sinclair’s next novel, Games of Command, will be published at the end of February, 2007.

I can hardly wait.

Leave a Reply

