Linnea Sinclair – "Gabriel’s Ghost"

29 Dec


GENRE: Romance / Science fiction
PUBLISHED: Bantam Spectra Books, 2005


The back blurb:
“After a decade of piloting interstellar patro ships, former captain Chasidah Bergren, onetime pride of the Sixth Fleet, finds herself court-martialed for a crime she didn’t commit – and shipped off to a remote prison planet from which no one ever escapes. But when she kills a brutal guard in an act of self-defence, someone even more dangerous emerges from the shadows.
Gabriel Sullivan – alpha mercenary, smuggler, and rogue – is supposed to be dead. Yet now this seductive ghost from Chaz’s past is offering her a ticket to freedom – for a price. Someone in the Empire is secretly breeding jukors: vicious and uncontrollable killing machines that have long been outlawed. Gabriel needs Chaz to help him stop the practice before it decimates Imperial space. The mission means putting their lives on the line – but the tensions that heat up between them may be the riskiest part of all.”


Gabriel’s Ghost is written in first person and told from the perspective of the heroine, Chasidah Bergren. I think writing in first person is more challenging because you have to get across what the other characters are feeling, and in a romance that is mainly and most often the hero. Linnea Sinclair managed that pretty well. From early on, I knew the hero, Gabriel Sullivan, was in love with the heroine and that he had been for a long time; and not just because he was The Hero of the novel.

There’s a valid reason why the reader can’t get Gabriel’s perspective so the first person POV really fits the story.

Gabriel has a secret.

This secret that fuels much of what happens between Chaz and him because – brace yourself – he doesn’t tell Chaz the entire truth for a long time of the story. Secrets are often annoying because they’re seldom worth the secrecy but here I found it believable that Gabriel didn’t come out with the whole of it at once. It’s a nice set-up for conflict. Chaz has to trust Gabriel even knowing or suspecting that she doesn’t have all the facts which are very important for her and the way she makes decisions. Gabriel’s small revelations over the course of the story keep Chaz questioning Gabriel and her trust in him. The conflict between believing in someone because of facts or because of emotions is played to the full. The problem of the jukor breeding (the “external” story) plays a smaller role in comparison and only takes precedence near the end (and isn’t resolved entirely).

I liked Chaz and I liked Gabriel. There are some heart wrenching moments between them and I’m a sucker for those, manipulative or not. I had great fun reading this novel and I’ll surely order Sinclair’s other novels.


Would I recommend this novel? Yes.

Would I read this novel again? Yes.

Grade: 5 – / 5


3 Responses to “Linnea Sinclair – "Gabriel’s Ghost"”

  1. Christine Saturday, March 14, 2009 at 9:46 pm #

    WOW! A nearly perfect score! I have heard so much incredible feedback from readers of Linnea Sinclair’s works. This is the only work of Sinclair’s that I have in my TBR pile, and I look forward to reading it. I just have a feeling that once I read it… I’m going to love it… then have to buy her entire backlist! Which is no small purcha$e. 😉

  2. Taja Sunday, March 15, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    Gabriel’s Ghost was my first Linnea Sinclair. After I finished it, I immediately bought all other books by her which were available. So chances are good that you are right with your prediction!

    But she’s really good and totally worth the purcha$e, IMO.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Re-Read Challenge: “Gabriel’s Ghost” By Linnea Sinclair « Books and Games - Thursday, April 30, 2009

    […] how Sinclair made it clear that Sully was in love with Chaz even though I didn’t get his POV (my comment then). This was around Christmas 2006. After I finished it, I went on my first author […]

Leave a Reply

