Film: "Three Nuts for Cinderella"

1 Dec

– also called Three Wishes for Cinderella or Three Gifts for Cinderella (original title: Tri orísky pro Popelku).

Three Nuts for Cinderella has been part of Christmas for as long as I can think. Every Christmas, this film is on German TV – on a lot of channels. I have ample opportunity to watch it and it is a kind of tradition to do this every year. The Boyfriend bought me the DVD version of it so that I can watch it every time I want. But it’s still only in December that I dig out my copy.

Three Nuts for Cinderella was filmed in Czechoslovakia and East Germany in 1973 and is a more modern take on the fairy tale than all the other versions I know. I always thought that Ever After has some similarities. In Three Nuts for Cinderella, Cinderella is active and strong – a real equal to the prince. Just looking good (= attending three balls) doesn’t cut it here.

Then there is the beautiful music. Just thinking about it – “La la la la la…” – yes, it’s definitely time to get the DVD.

There is a nice fanpage.

One Response to “Film: "Three Nuts for Cinderella"”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Time Of The Year It’s Time For… « Books and Games - Monday, December 1, 2008

    […] Links: fan website; older post about the film […]

Leave a Reply

