Tess Gerritsen – "Vanish"

28 Sep


GENRE: Mystery
PUBLISHED: Bantam Books, 2006


The back blurb:
“The beautiful woman appears to be just another corpse in the morgue. But when medical examiner Maura Isles looks down at the body, she gets the fright of her life.
The corpse opens its eyes.
Now very much alive, the woman is rushed to the hospital, where she murders a security guard and seizes hostages, one of whom is the heavily pregnant homicide detective Jane Rizzoli.
But who is this woman, and what does she want? Only Jane can solve the mystery – if she survives the night.”


I bought this book on impulse. It’s not my first choice of genre, but the weekend was near and it was a bargain (6,60 Euro – you know I’m cheap).

Vanish is the first novel I read by Tess Gerritsen. There is nothing in this novel that makes me hesitate to read another one of her novels (like it happened with Frances Fyfield’s Seeking Sanctuary, but there is nothing in it that makes me rush out and to get them either. Admittedly, this is hard to accomplish – I’m just not much into these kind of stories, so this is a mute point.

Overall, I thought Vanishto be a so-so read. The writing was okay and I can’t remember much “filler” stuff, so that’s good. There are four “main” characters: the medical examiner, Maura Isles; Jane Rizzoli, a (pregnant) policewoman; Gabriel Dean, FBI agent and husband to Jane; Mila. The first three seem to be characters of an ongoing series (haven’t checked it yet). The perspective alternates between these four people which made it a bit hard to get into the story. It took some time for me to connect the different perspectives, especially how Mila’s perspective fitted in. But there was enough interesting stuff going on, so it wasn’t too big a problem.

Some things are just a bit too coincidental (won’t spoil here) and some things I found a bit too unbelievable. For example: an overdue pregnant woman (Jane Rizzoli) has to be a witness in court. Then defendant looses control and a fight ensues, and Jane’s the one to get the situation under control by handcuffing the defendant. Maybe she’s one tough cookie (see perhaps previous novels) but I don’t know.

I liked that the first sentence in the novel was also the last one.


Would I recommend this novel? Yes, there are no obvious flaws with it, but I didn’t find it especially memorable.

Would I read this novel again? No.

Grade: 3 / 5


Leave a Reply

