First Foray Into Science Fiction

16 Jul

I recently started to branch out into in science fiction with my reading and watching DVDs. There was:

  • Iain Banks – The Algebraist (interesting world building).
  • I then read Susan Grant’s Contact (great) and The Star King (not as terrific as Contact, but still solid),
  • I spent a whole weekend watching Firefly (interesting concepts, but the reliance on shooting to solve “problems” got a bit stale after a while)
  • and finished this off with the first ten episodes of Battlestar Gallactica, Season 2 on the next weekend (very impressed; I never got around to watching the first season which, of course, still isn’t available on DVD here).

I just ordered The Challenge, the first novel in a romance science fiction series by Susan Kearney. I’m really interested in the The Ultimatum but I like to read series in order, so The Challenge it is for now.

Leave a Reply

