About "Final Fantasy VIII"

27 Mar

The last two days I was alone at home with nothing to do. I decided to play Final Fantasy 8 (official site, this one is better) and to eat lots of unhealthy food. And that’s all I did, nothing more.

Final Fantasy VIII is the first RPG I ever played, and it is the game that started my love for RPGs, and very probably my l ove for long endings in games. Before this game, I had played other games (Civilization II, Sim City 2000, the Indiana Jones adventures), but I think it’s Final Fantasy VIII that sent me to my doom (= being a gamer). This was around 2000, I think (PC version).

I still remember the opening FMV. It just blew me away. The combination of the music (“Liberi Fatali) and the story hints in this first sequence … I was impressed and intrigued. Later I learned that the text of Liberi Fatali is very appropriate to the story in the game, a story about orphaned children and their fate to save the world (the original text is in Latin):

Liberi Fatali

Fithos lusec wecos vinosec
Fithos lusec wecos vinosec
Fithos lusec wecos vinosec

Awaken yourselves from sleep, my children.
This is not a cradle.
Awaken yourselves from sleep, fated children
Sleep does not advance.

Rise up.
Seek in the garden of truth.

Burning with the fires of truth
Sear with flame the darkness of the world.
Burning with the fires of truth
Kindle to ash the evil of the spirit.

Be strong, children,
on that fated day.

Fithos lusec wecos vinosec
Fithos lusec wecos vinosec
Fithos lusec wecos vinosec
Fithos lusec wecos vinosec

I didn’t have a clue how to play this kind of game, and because of that it was really hard sometimes, but it also was a LOT of fun.

As you’ve probably already guessed, Final Fantasy VIII is my favourite game of the Final Fantasy series. I like the high-school feeling associated with it, I like the opening and ending, I like the final battle, I like the discussions about the nature of time and the mystery of Ultimecia, and maybe – but only maybe – I like it for sentimental reasons.

Needless to say, when we got a PS2, one of the first games I got was Final Fantasy VIII.

And now it’s really time I get back to playing.

Leave a Reply

