Helen Brooks – “His Christmas Bride”

16 Jan


GENRE: Romance / Contemporary
PUBLISHED: Harlequin Presents, 2007


The back blurb:
“Blossom was not the type to attract eligible rich men and keep them – her marriage lasted six months before her husband dumped her .. on Christmas Eve!
So when Zak Hamilton – a billionaire businessman – demanded a date, she was determined
not to get involved. But Zak found Blossom’s modesty a challenge. In fact, he decided he would claim her as his bride – by Christmas!”


This is the first novel I read in the Harlequin Presents line and, looking just at the title of other novels there, His Christmas Bride isn’t a bad one. I mean, just three words, no nationality mentioned… Now, the title of Brooks’s next one, The Billionaire’s Marriage Mission, is more in line with the others but as Brooks convinced me with His Christmas Bride I’ll order it without much smirking. But wait, that’s a bit fast as I haven’t said anything about His Christmas Bride yet.

First off:
– I ordered it because I read a favourable review of it on Dear Author and it’s story sounded like something I might enjoy.
– I liked that it took place in London.

The story itself is one where my cynical self says “no way” but my other selves say “isn’t this what love should be about?” If done right, this can work for me like a charm and make my cynical self shut up and me feeling all warm inside (see above, I might enjoy it). But I’m getting ahead of myself again.

Blossom is certainly a “once bitten, twice shy” kind of woman. And Zak Hamilton is certainly someone who goes after what he wants. Not that he’s some kind of bully, that’s not the case, but from the moment he sets eyes on Blossom he knows he wants to get to know her better (not that the reader would “know” this; the whole story is told from Blossom’s POV). He pursues this even if it means being repeatedly rejected by Blossom. Which was the point where my cynical self started to snort “yeah right.” It didn’t help that he’s also a very successful businessman because (my cynical self again) “those men don’t bother with difficult women. In fact, men don’t bother with difficult women.”

But as I wrote above: it worked (and my cynical self slunk off). And that’s mostly because a) Blossom and Zak are adults and they talk; b) the time frame of the story fits this kind of story: to give the story a few months makes the development of Blossom trust much more believable and realistic than stories wherein the heroine goes from abused-by-men to the hot sex toy and ready to love in just one week. Also, I thought Brooks way of writing nice and easy to read.

So, I finished His Christmas Bride feeling all warm and “awwwwh!” and I’ll order her next one, smirk inducing title or not.


Would I recommend this novel? Yes.

Would I read this novel again? Yes.

Grade: 4,5 / 5


One Response to “Helen Brooks – “His Christmas Bride””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best Of 2008: Books and Games (And More) « Books and Games - Wednesday, December 31, 2008

    [...] Suzanne Brockmann – Kiss and Tell Helen Brooks – His Christmas Bride Helen Brooks – The Billionaire’s Marriage Mission Kresley Cole – Dark Needs at Night’s [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

